Governance & Accreditation


Louisiana Community and Technical College System (LCTCS) 

NTCC is governed by the Louisiana Community & Technical College System Board of Supervisors.  The Louisiana Community and Technical College System's Board consists of 17 members.  The LCTCS Board is composed of 15 members appointed by the Governor with consent of the Senate, two from each of the seven congressional districts with one at-large member.  Each member serves overlapping six-year terms, and the Board is constitutionally required to be representative of the state’s population by race and gender to ensure diversity.

There are two students members – one elected by and from membership of a council composed of the student body presidents of the community colleges and one student elected by and from the membership of a council composed of student body presidents of each of the seven technical colleges under the supervision and management of the LCTCS Board.  Each student member serves a one-year term.

More information about the LCTCS Board of Supervisors can be found at the following webpage:

College Administration 

The College is led by Dr. William S. Wainwright, serving in the capacity of Chancellor, since August 2011. Learn more about Dr. Wainwright and his administrative team members on the following webpage: Link to NTCC Administration webpage


Council on Occupational Education

Each Northshore Technical Community College campus is accredited by the Accrediting Commission of the Council on Occupational Education (COE).  This accreditation means that nationwide this college is recognized as meeting standards of training acceptable for accreditation.  The address of the Council on Occupational Education is:

Dr. Gary Puckett, Executive Director
Council on Occupational Education
7840 Roswell Road, Building 300, Suite 325
Atlanta, GA 30350
(770) 396-3898

In February 2018, Northshore Technical Community College completed reaffirmation of accreditation by the Council on Occupational Education (COE).  Reaffirmation signifies that the college has maintained quality programs, undergone an extensive self-study and team review, and continues to meet the Commission's Standards and Conditions for Accreditation.

Institutional Advisory Councils

NTCC convenes a College Advisory Council with representation from each of the areas served by its campuses.  In addition, the main campus and the branch campuses utilize the expertise and knowledge of those individuals who will eventually employ our students to give us advice and guidance.  Institutional Advisory Committees are made up of three or more members external to the campuses, meets at least once annually with a majority of official members present, and keeps minutes of each meeting to document their activities and recommendations.

Occupational Advisory Committees

Occupational Advisory Committees are formed for each training program.  Each committee consists of at least three individuals external to the institution and meets twice annually.  The committees review and give input about the mission, objectives, and curriculum content of the training programs.  Employers that hire students of NTCC serve on these occupational advisory committees.